Molsheim, a town over 1200 years old! There is so much to say and show that it is useless to tell you that it is possible to spend the day there and to organize commented visits.
The Jesuit Church, the Charterhouse, the Blacksmiths’ Gate, the Metzig, which are presented on the city tour, and the list is long, and here we present other nuggets.
On the heritage side
Jaquemarts clock - 1607
Installed in the renaissance turret. It has 2 dials with only one hand each. The one on the upper dial describes a 12-hour turn, the other dial indicates the minutes. Above, the moon phases are indicated by a golden disc. Two angels, each with a mobile arm, strike the hours and quarters of the hour with hammers on two bells.
The sisters' house
at no. 1 rue de l’église housed a girls’ school at the end of the 18th century
Some remarkable houses
House dating from 1605 at no. 9 rue de Strasbourg with a richly decorated façade. At no. 14 rue de Saverne, this beautiful bourgeois house dating from 1607 has a corner oriel on two levels. Rue Jenner at n°16 the oriel of the canonical house, at n°20 at the back, a polygonal stair turret and at n°12 at the end of the passage the unusual decoration (visible only by going up against the direction of the traffic) and many others to discover, the list is long.
Ornement of the fountain
At the top of the fluted column with its Corinthian capital, a lion stands guard over the coat of arms. It was sculpted in 1848 by Hans Frauler.
Hostellerie du Pur Sang
At no. 16 Rue de la Commanderie, this private mansion, acquired by Ettore Bugatti, was transformed into a guest house to receive friends and famous guests.
Route de Mutzig, the buildings from the Wilhelmian period. The residence stands in a large garden where the administration building and the caretaker’s house are located.
With the help of the tour opposite, discover the historic centre of Molsheim